Bartók for Piano

by David Yeomans

This chronological listing of more than 400 separate pieces and movements presents in practical and convenient form essential information about each of Bartók's piano works: the year of publication, the various editions in which it has been published, its timing, the level of difficulty from both a technical and an interpretive standpoint, and bibliographical references to it.

To this basic material David Yeomans adds pertinent quotations from Bartók and other authorities, a discussion of the original folk material when applicable, a musical analysis, suggestions for performance, and an analysis of Bartók's own recordings of the work if available.

Appendixes contain listings of Bartók's solo piano works in order of technical and musical difficulty the major publishers of his works, editions and transcriptions by Bartók of other composers' works, and teaching editions and collections of Bartók's piano music.

Teachers, students, and professional performers will find this comprehensive listing invaluable in planning courses of study and concerts.


  • isbn
  • publisher
    Indiana University Press
  • publisher place
    Bloomington, Indiana USA
  • restrictions
  • rights
    Copyright © Trustees of Indiana University
  • rights holder
    Indiana University Press
  • rights territory
  • doi